Alabama and Ohio State announce home-and-home football series for 2027, 2028 seasons

Watch Now:
CFB Conference Futures: Pick To Win Big Ten

Alabama and Ohio State announced Thursday that they will play each other in football in the 2027 and 2028 seasons. It will mark the first meetings between the the storied programs at non-neutral sites. The first game is set to be played at Ohio State on Sept. 18, 2027. Alabama will host the second game on Sept. 9, 2028.

“The addition of Ohio State to our future nonconference schedule shows the commitment our program and administration has to creating the best possible games for our players and fans,” Alabama coach Nick Saban said. “I have coached a lot of years in the SEC and Big 10 and Bryant-Denny Stadium and Ohio Stadium are two of the very best environments in college football. Non-conference series like Alabama-Ohio State are so important to the health of college football, and we are very pleased that we could get this series completed.”

Alabama leads the all-time series 3-1. But Ohio State won the most recent meeting 42-35 in the 2015 Sugar Bowl, which was a semifinal game for the College Football Playoff.

The series adds to a challenging slate of future nonconference games for both programs. Alabama is scheduled to play USC in a neutral-site game to begin the 2020 season and has nonconference games against Miami (FL), Texas, Wisconsin, Florida State and West Virginia scheduled before the series with Ohio State.

Ohio State plays Oregon this season and in 2021. The Buckeyes also have home-and-home sets against Notre Dame, Washington and Texas scheduled in the years leading up to the series with Alabama.

“We’d like to thank University of Alabama Athletic Director Greg Byrne and senior deputy director of athletics Finus Gaston, who worked so hard with us to get this series scheduled,” Ohio State deputy athletic director Diana Sabau said. “Building a nonconference schedule with tradition-rich programs is important to the competitive excellence of our program and the department, and it is great for our fans. We are excited for both schools and pleased to be able to share in this announcement today with the University of Alabama.”

Ohio State is second all-time in wins while Alabama is tied for fourth. The two have combined for eight College Football Playoff appearances in the event’s six years of existence. The Buckeyes won the title after the 2014 season, while Alabama won it after the 2016 and 2018 seasons.

Source link

You might like

About the Author: lorionmaui

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *